SUNY Adirondack announces Student Life Awards, Resident Life Awards and Athletic Department Awards for 2013-2014

(QUEENSBURY, NY – May 29, 2014) – SUNY Adirondack honored its students and student-athletes Sunday, May 4, at the college’s Student Life Awards program.

Awards were given in the areas of Athletics, Residence Life and Student Life.

Athletic Awards

Women’s Tennis: Most Improved Player – Melanie Marino of Argyle; Sportsmanship Award – Kaiya Tamlyn of Queensbury; Most Valuable Player – Lauren Demetreus of Malta.

Women’s Volleyball: Best Defensive Player – Madison Paquin of Queensbury; Best Offensive Player – Megan Seeley of Hudson Falls; Most Valuable Player – Kara Tecl of Queensbury; Mountain Valley Conference Coach of the Year – Xiao Li.

Men’s Soccer: Most Improved Player – Leo Cunningham of Glens Falls; Most Valuable Player – Samuel Naiwo of London, England; Sportsmanship Award – Joe Boulter of Suffolk, England; All-American Recognition/National Soccer Coaches Association All-American Award – Thomas Debenham of Suffolk, England and Samuel Naiwo of London, England.

Women’s Basketball: Most Improved Player – Kiera Warner of Chestertown; Academic Award – Cassandra Maday of Chestertown; Outstanding Players – Jamie McLaughlin of Queensbury and Shelby Graham of Argyle.

Men’s Basketball: Most Outstanding Player and Most Improved Player – Josh Thompson of The Bronx; Ben Davis 110% Award – Josh Horton of Argyle.

Bowling: Most Valuable Player – Thomas Bonano of Gansevoort; Most Improved Player – David Morse of Fort Edward; Coach’s Award for Team Leadership – Matthew Seymour of Schuylerville.

Women’s Softball: Scholar Athlete Award – Elicia Trello of Hudson Falls; Outstanding Player Award (co-winners) – Ashleigh Maines of Greenwich and Sara Peck of Argyle; Most Improved Player – Angela Vladyka of Granville.

Men’s Tennis: Most Valuable Player – Jared Vanderwarker of Corinth; Sportsmanship Award – Aleksandr Goodman of Kattskill Bay; Most Improved Player – Cody McCann of Lake George.

Female Athlete of the Year – Rachel Lumley of Fort Edward (Women’s Volleyball).

Male Athletes of the year – Samuel Naiwo of London, England (Men’s Soccer) and Thomas Bonano of Gansevoort (Bowling).

Residence Life Awards

Residence Assistant of the Year – Jaimee Dorsey of Mechanicville.

Rookie Residence Assistant of the Year – Kalyn Credle of Jamaica.

Resident of the Year – Dan Morrison of Ticonderoga.

R.A. Program of the Year – Cultural Explosion/Rap Battle: Amber Miller, Sam Speizale and Terrance Green.

Student Life Awards

Advisor of the Year – Dr. Charles Bailey.

Senator of the Year – Daniel Roberts of Porter Corners.

Club of the Year – SUNY Adirondack Military Club.

Joey F. Mihalek Memorial Service Award – Sydney Clifford of Cambridge.

Delta Kappa Gamma Education Award (Alpha Epsilon Chapter) – Michael Murdock of Schroon Lake.



close X