SUNY Adirondack announces Chancellor's, President's awards

" "
May 18, 2021

QUEENSBURY, New York (May 18, 2021) — SUNY Adirondack is proud to announce several of its students, faculty and staff members were honored with SUNY Chancellor’s and SUNY Adirondack President’s Awards.

“These dedicated members of our SUNY Adirondack community exemplify the qualities that make our college such a special place to learn and work,” said Kristine Duffy, Ed.D., president of the college.

Among the faculty and staff awarded the 2020-21 Chancellor’s Awards are Paul McClean, coordinator of online learning, for Excellence in Professional Service; Nick Paigo, professor of graphic arts, for Excellence in Teaching; Dr. Stephanie Drotos, assistant professor of English, Excellence in Faculty Service; and Rebecca Cash, adjunct in English, Excellence in Adjunct Teaching.

The Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence recognize consistently superior professional achievement and encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence. According to SUNY Academic Affairs, the program underscores SUNY’s commitment to sustaining “intellectual vibrancy, advancing the boundaries of knowledge, providing the highest quality of instruction and serving the public good.”

Three SUNY Adirondack students were also recognized with Chancellor’s Awards: Yanary Champagnie, a business administration major from Greenwich who serves as a peer coach; Skylar Dorrer, a Liberal Arts: Humanities & Social Science major from Granville, who is a Social Justice scholar, student trustee, peer coach and resident assistant; and Mia Durham, a Lake Luzerne native and December graduate of SUNY Adirondack’s Liberal Arts Math & Science program, who is enrolled in SUNY Cobleskill’s animal science bachelor’s degree program.

SUNY’s CASE (Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence) is the highest honor bestowed upon a student in the SUNY system, acknowledging outstanding achievement that demonstrates the integration of SUNY excellence within the students’ lives in areas including academics, leadership, campus involvement, community service or the arts.

“The professors are what made my SUNY Adirondack experience so great,” Durham said. “They’re really approachable and encouraging, and I felt like I had a great support system.”

Four faculty and staff members were recognized with the SUNY Adirondack President's Awards. Nancy White, professor of English, was awarded Excellence in Teaching—Senior Faculty; Krista Rivera, instructor of English, Excellence in Teaching—Junior Faculty; Michael DeFilippo, adjunct in Outdoor Education, Excellence in Teaching—Adjunct; and Katey Rorick, secretary, Excellence in Classified Service.

In addition, Duffy recognized the following campus honors: Mindy Wilson, associate vice president of Human Resources & Payroll and Affirmative Action officer and deputy Title IX coordinator, for Distinguished Service; the Wolfpack Award for a committee of employees, including Danielle Brown, Taylor Testa, Sarah LeRoux, Heidi Durkee, Brooke Toma and Patti Jo Tennyson, who created monthly virtual social events to keep staff engaged throughout the 2020-21 academic year; and Sarah LeRoux, Events Services, and Robert Dennis, a security officer, for the Community Spirit Awards.

“These award winners are campus leaders who inspire, encourage and support,” Duffy said. “Each of them makes a difference in the lives of their students, peers and colleagues every day.”