SUNY Adirondack awards scholarships to business competition winners

High school students in Adirondack Hall
May 09, 2019

SUNY Adirondack presented $200 scholarships to the top students at the 26th annual High School Business Day on May 7 in the Northwest Bay Conference Center on the Queensbury campus.

Approximately 250 students from 11 area high schools — including Bolton, Brunswick, Corinth, Granville, Greenwich, Hudson Falls, Queensbury, Saratoga Springs, South Glens Falls, Ticonderoga and WSWHE BOCES — competed in a variety of business-related tests and presentations. New additions to the program included competitions in Computer Applications/Business Formatting, General Business and Agricultural Business.

The event also incorporated programming for technology students, including a PC and Home Network Quiz Bowl and an Ethical Hacking Challenge.

First-place competition winners received $200 SUNY Adirondack scholarships, and students who placed second- through fifth-place received Amazon gift cards.

SUNY Adirondack organized the event in a partnership with the Adirondack Business Educators.

Prize winners included: 

Team Test

First: Hudson Falls

Second: Brunswick

Third: WSWHE BOCES ECCA - Business

Fourth: Saratoga Springs

Fifth: Granville

Pitch It Contest

First: WSWHE BOCES ECCA - Business

Second: South Glens Falls

Third: Hudson Falls


First: Alexandria Mickel, WSWHE BOCES Early College Career Academy

Second: Coleman Fignar, Saratoga Springs

Third: Thomas Parrish, Saratoga Springs

Fourth: Jordan Fuss, WSWHE BOCES Early College Career Academy

Fifth: James Ward, Queensbury

Personal Finance

First: Kirsten Strum, Ticonderoga

Second: Luke Siewert, Saratoga Springs

Third: Parker Taft, South Glens Falls

Fourth: Garrett Lamouree, Queensbury

Fifth: Garret Stiles, Queensbury


First: Luke Shapiro, Saratoga Springs

Second: Abigail Sova, Greenwich

Third: Tressa Smith, Saratoga Springs

Fourth: Luke Siewert, Saratoga Springs

Fifth: Jack Reimann, Saratoga Springs

Business Law

First: Nicholas Andrus, Granville

Second: Parker Taft, South Glens Falls

Third: Jack Whittaker, WSWHE BOCES Early College Career Academy

Fourth: Charles Washburn, Queensbury

Fifth: Cole Peterson, Corinth

Business Math

First: Alexis Dunean, Brunswick

Second: Taylor Bourn, Granville

Third: Bobby Treshack, Brunswick

Fourth: Alex Stone, Brunswick

Fifth: Garrett Lamourre, Queensbury

Sports Marketing

First: Cameron Woodard, South Glens Falls

Second: Alex LaPlante, Granville

Third: Caleb Poag, WSWHE BOCES ECCA - Business

Fourth: Ethan Kerr, Ticonderoga

Fifth: Justin Bell, Granville

Computer Applications/Business Formatting

First: Kyle Campbell, Granville

Second: William Richmond, Hudson Falls

Third: Abigail Sova, Greenwich

Fourth: Dylan Heidorf, Granville

Fifth: Emma French, Greenwich


First: Sarah O’Connor, Queensbury

Second: Nick Sumner, Granville

Third: Garrett Lamouree, Queensbury

Fourth: Kyle Ouimet, Saratoga Springs

Fifth: Charles Washburn, Queensbury

General Business

First: Parker Taft, South Glens Falls

Second: Amanda Touse, South Glens Falls

Third: Zack Burch, Granville

Fourth: Kirsten Strum, Ticonderoga

Fifth: Colin Ladd, Ticonderoga

Agricultural Business

First: Drew McEachron, Granville

Second: Ford Smith, Granville

Third: Patrick Morehouse, Queensbury

Fourth: Brendan Duffy, Queensbury

Fifth: Nate Weeks, South Glens Falls

Keyboard Timing

First: James Young, Greenwich

Second: William Person, Bolton

Third: Gabriella Fisher, Brunswick

Fourth: Jacob Wilkson, Greenwich

Fifth: Emma French, Greenwich


First: Charles Washburn, Queensbury

Second: Garret Stiles, Queensbury

Third: Caleb Poag, WSWHE BOCES Early College Career Academy

Fourth: Adam Collins, WSWHE BOCES Early College Career Academy

Fifth: Brendon Duffy, Queensbury

Business Communications

First: Claire Stafford, Brunswick

Second: Alexis Duncan, Brunswick

Third: Bobby Treshock, Brunswick

Fourth: Abigail Sova, Greenwich

Fifth: Will Vogel, Queensbury

Ethical Hacking

First: Tyler Akins, Bryce Coss and Cordell Smith; WSWHE BOCES Early College Career Academy

Second: Nicholas Rowinski; WSWHE BOCES Early College Career Academy

Third: Jacob Szymanski, Ryan Viele and Dylan Morehouse; WSWHE BOCES Early College Career Academy