Certificate of Residence

New York State Education Law requires all students to show proof of residence upon enrolling in a community college. A Certificate of Residence allows SUNY Adirondack to bill your home county for part of your tuition costs, which helps pay for your education. 

Students are solely responsible for proving residency requirements. Those who fail to file a Certificate of Residency each year of attendance will be charged tuition at a higher rate non-resident rate.

You are considered a New York resident if:

  • Your permanent residence is in New York state and you have lived there for a year or more immediately preceding your registration; OR
  • You are a resident alien and have had a permanent residence in New York state for a year or more immediately preceding your registration; OR
  • You are in the armed services (or married to someone in the armed services) on active duty and stationed in New York state (a copy of your active military ID is required on file with Student Accounts)

Notes about residency:

  • A student's legal residence is presumed to be the residence of the parent, guardian or any other permanent residence before enrollment at SUNY Adirondack. Residence is not gained or lost by attending college and such attendance does not change a student’s legal residence.
  • A married student or one working full time in New York for more than a year may establish his or her own residence.
  • The address of a vacation home or a residence while away at school does not qualify as a permanent residence
  • Students who have not resided in the state for at least one year or who have a permanent residence in another state must pay the non-resident tuition rate.

 

Certificate of Residence FAQs

New York State Education Law requires all students to show proof of residence upon enrolling in a community college.

A Certificate of Residence allows SUNY Adirondack to bill your home county for part of your tuition costs, which helps pay for your education. 

 

Each county offers a request form for a Certificate of Residence. Find your home county's form here.

Certificate of Residence forms can be completed no more than 60 days before the start of classes and no later than 30 days after the start of classes. New York state counties are only required to issue and honor Certificates of Residence within this timeframe. After the first 30 days of classes, most counties will no longer issue a Certificate of Residence, which means the student must pay non-resident tuition charges.

 

Certificates of Residence are valid for one year from the date issued. Students must complete a new Certificate of Residence each year.

Once you have received the document from your county,  submit a Certificate of Residence to Student Accounts, located in the Business Office, within 21 days of the start of classes.

 

New York State Education Law grants students 30 days from the start of classes to get a certificate from your home county.